Bulldogs Put Burroughs in The Bank, 41-14

Burbank claims its first outright league championship since 1972. (Photo by Doug Brown)

By Joe Torosian

(Burbank)–The Burbank Bulldogs got monster performances out of Duncan Smith, Matt Porras, Darnell Williams and froth at the mouth defense to take a 41-14 victory over the rival Burroughs Indians on Friday night at Memorial District Field.

Porras (20 of 33 for 237 yards) threw four touchdown passes, Smith (8-catches, 130-yards) caught three touchdown passes, Williams (150 yards rushing) rushed for two touchdowns and the defense recorded five sacks and allowed just one score.

Burbank quarterback, Matt Porras on the run. (Photo by Doug Brown)

The Bank started things late in the first quarter when Porras went 7-yards to Smith. Four minutes later, Smith caught his second scoring pass on a 21-yard toss from Porras. Four minutes after that Porras went 18-yards to Kaydon Spens.

The 21-0 Bulldog lead was similar to the 2010 match between the schools that saw the Indians rally from a 28-0 second quarter deficit for a 38-35 victory. The starting quarterback for Burbank that night was its current head coach, Adam Colman.

Burbank’s Darnell Williams gashed the Burroughs defense for 150 yards on Friday night. (Photo by Doug Brown)

It became more interesting 16-seconds later when Burroughs’ Charlie Rodriguez returned the kickoff 96-yards to paydirt to make it 21-7.

Then at the start of the second half, the Indians drew within one score when Nathan Piper went 66-yards off a play-action fake to a wide open Gavin Aguilar and it was a 21-14 game.

All similarities to the 2010 game ended there as the Bulldogs scored the next three touchdowns. Two came courtesy of Williams on short runs and a 10-yard pass to Smith.

Duncan High! Burbank receiver–“Bad Dude”–Duncan Smith had eight catches against the Indians…Three for touchdowns. (Photo by Doug Brown)

The victory improved Burbank to 7-0 and gave them the Pacific League title. They are 8-2 overall. It’s their first league title since they shared a co-championship with Burroughs in 2009 and their first outright title since winning the Foothill League in 1972.

Burroughs finished 4-5.

Burroughs Offensive Line:
LT: Allen Arriaga, LG: Kevin Hebri, C: #72, RG: Jacob Real, RT: Adam Sporkin

Burbank Offensive Line:
LT: Anthony Lira, LG: Armando De la cruz, C: Kristopher Azizkhani, RG: Esper Alsayegh, RT: Karo Koshkaryan


3 Comments to "Bulldogs Put Burroughs in The Bank, 41-14"

  1. annoymous's Gravatar annoymous
    November 6, 2017 - 4:55 pm | Permalink

    Congrats to Ex-Cathedral player now Defensive Cordinator Manuel Lemus.

  2. Montana's Gravatar Montana
    November 5, 2017 - 11:04 am | Permalink

    Wasn’t their former retired head coach predicting shocking the world?? Should’ve stayed retired. The dog is belly up.

  3. JB Alum's Gravatar JB Alum
    November 5, 2017 - 8:07 am | Permalink

    Time for knoop to go. Have not seen that program adapt in 20 years. Yes, he’s not the head coach but anyone anyone watching that program knows who’s really in charge. Get a clue.

Leave a Reply